Tone it Down Please!

Friday, August 6, 2010

Have paper that's too bright, too loud, too much contrast? Tone it down with a whitewash!
The striped paper on the back of this frame is quite bright with a lot of contrast, (see it HERE). Using white pigment ink I gave it a much softer, lighter look.

If you attended my last ustream class, or have watched the recorded video, you'll recognize this wall hanging, but I made a few changes before taking photos. I toned down the pattern on the bird by using the flip side of the patterned paper, and I changed the crown by embossing it in gold. I also added a few more flowers and buttons to the page. To see part two of this project (I'll be adding more embellishments to the lower right side of the frame and finishing it off with a hangar), tune in on Wednesday, Aug. 11 at 7 pm pacific. (That's 8 pm mountain, 9 pm central, 10 pm eastern).

Want to know a secret? I don't plan my ustream classes too much. I made a little promise to myself: I'd keep the classes simple and easy enough for me that I could just log on and teach without spending hours prepping and planning. The classes are casual and fun, like inviting a good friend over and sharing a few tips and ideas. So, sometimes I create something and then decide to make a few tweaks, after the camera is shut off. If you've tuned into one of my ustream shows, you'll understand the casual approach, I had an impromptu "helper" in my last class, and I dumped glitter all over my dog. Ah well, the show must go on!

4 comments:

Katy said...

I missed this episode due to a water leak...on my "to-do" list this weekend!!! As always...thanks for the INSPIRATION...you're a breath of fresh air!

Bobie said...

Watched it live! Laughed really hard about the hunting dog with glitter!! I can't wait to see how this gets finished next week. I have been thinking about a similar project with hearts for my 28th Anniversary next week. thanks for another great idea.

Sheila Bennett said...

Just finished watching your UStream class and am really impressed with your teaching techniques. And you are surely a creative genius - how do you come up with making a crown for a bird by using a snowflake?? My mind certainly doesn't operate that way! lol

Lisa van Heerden said...

I am new to your site and just love your whimsical touch. I feel like I just visited a fairy and found her treasure trove of sparkles and magic! Beautiful work!

Post a Comment

I love comments! Leave some LOVE!